What Future Do You Want for Huntingfield & Kingborough?

Media Enquiries

Sophie Underwood
PMAT State Director 
0407 501 999


A public meeting to discuss a fast-tracked rezoning process for housing at Huntingfield Park drew more than 300 people to Kingborough’s Community Hub last night.

Facilitated by Planning Matters Alliance Tasmania the meeting called on the Tasmanian Parliament to reject the proposed Housing Supply Order for Huntingfield and for the government to proceed with any future rezoning proposals through the standard planning scheme amendment process.

There were numerous concerns about the proposed Housing Supply Order – 1287 Channel Highway, Huntingfield, including: inadequate community consultation, the impact of such a high density of new houses on existing residents, visitors, schools and roads, Peter Murrell Reserve, loss of agricultural land and the by-passing of the Kingborough Council and independent Tasmanian Planning Commission.

The meeting called for the development of a strategic plan, in conjunction with the community, including considering agricultural values and impacts on Peter Murrell Reserve, for the Huntingfield land which would inform any rezone proposal.

It also recognised the need for more social and affordable housing provided it is supported by the required infrastructure.

Motions carried

Take action

Please contact your Tasmanian member of Parliament and ask them to:

  1. Reject the Huntingfield Housing Supply Order (see over for contact details); and

  2. Have the rezone assessed through the normal planning process.

The Huntingfield Housing Supply Order could be passed by the Tasmanian Parliament as soon as 14 August 2019.

Please also get in touch with your Lower House Member. You can get their details from this listing on the Tasmanian parliamentary website.

Other ways you can help

  • We urgently need volunteers to help type up the new contact sheets collected from tonight’s meeting. If you can help, please come to the front after the meeting or contact Sophie Underwood on 0407 501 999 or sophie_underwood@hotmail.com

  • Follow us on Facebook and join the local Facebook Group ‘Residents of Huntingfield and Beyond’.

  • Sign up for our regular email updates on our Contact page.

  • Donate and help us advocate for better planning in Tasmania.

Contact your local member of Parliament


  • Premier Will Hodgman
    will.hodgman@parliament.tas.gov.au (03) 6212 2191.

  • Housing Minister Roger Jaensch
    roger.jaensch@parliament.tas.gov.au (03) 6165 7686.

  • Speaker Sue Hickey
    Sue.hickey@parliament.tas.gov.au (03) 6212 2186.

  • Leader of the Opposition Rebecca White
    rebecca.white@parliament.tas.gov.au (03) 6212 2127.

  • Shadow Minister for Housing Alison Standen
    alison.standen@parliament.tas.gov.au (03) 6212 2216.

  • Greens Spokesperson on Housing Cassy O’Connor
    cassy.oconnor@parliament.tas.gov.au (03) 6212 2260.

**If you feel extra inspired please contact your Lower House Member. See full contact list here.


Please email/phone EVERY Upper House member

  • Rosemary Armitage
    Email rosemary.armitage@parliament.tas.gov.au or phone (03) 6212 2353/ 0419 341 178.

  • Robert Armstrong
    Email robert.armstrong@parliament.tas.gov.au or phone (03) 62122130/ 0418 951 820.

  • Ivan Dean
    Email ivan.dean@parliament.tas.gov.au or phone (03) 6212 2295/ 0417 364 375.

  • Craig Farrell
    Email craig.farrell@parliament.tas.gov.au or phone (03) 6212 2354.

  • Kerry Finch
    Email kerry.finch@parliament.tas.gov.au or phone (03) 6212 2346/ 0407 448 905.

  • Ruth Forrest
    Email ruth.forrest@parliament.tas.gov.au or phone (03) 6212 2316/ 0419 879 524.

  • Michael Gaffney
    Email Michael.gaffney@parliament.tas.gov.au or phone (03) 6212 2340/ 0409 015 253.

  • Leonie Hiscutt
    Email leonie.hiscutt@parliament.tas.gov.au or phone (03) 6212 2327.

  • Jane Howlett
    Email jane.howlett@parliament.tas.gov.au or phone (03) 6212 2347/ 0417 544 822.

  • Sarah Lovell
    Email sarah.lovell@parliament.tas.gov.au or phone (03) 6212 2334.

  • Tania Rattray
    Email tania.rattray@parliament.tas.gov.au or phone (03) 6212 2350/ 0427 523 412.

  • Joanna Siejka
    Email joanna.siejka@parliament.tas.gov.au or phone (03) 6212 2351.

  • Rob Valentine
    Email rob.valentine@parliament.tas.gov.au or phone (03) 6212 2344/ 0418 127 323.

  • Meg Webb
    Email meg.webb@parliament.tas.gov.au or phone (03) 6212 2322/0427 911 719.

  • Josh Willie
    Email josh.willie@parliament.tas.gov.au or phone (03) 6212 2300.

The full list of contact details can be seen here.

Kingborough Community Meeting on Housing

A packed crowd attended the public meeting to discuss the fast-tracked rezoning process for Huntingfield Park.

Scroll to Top